321 Comments

  1. David aka - TakingthePlunge
    September 28, 2012 @ 2:12 am

    Johnathan,

    There is really no way to know just how much hair will regrow after stopping and then restarting Rogaine (minoxidil). However, the general consensus is that once a medical hair loss treatment is stopped and hair loss is allowed to progress at its natural pace again, restarting the drug will rarely return the hair to its former state.

    More than likely, a portion of the hair that you’ve lost will not return. But, it’s still a good idea to get back on Rogaine and to keep using it until a better solution becomes available.

    You may also find that adding Propecia (finasteride) to your regimen will help greatly.

    Good luck!
    David

  2. Muhammad Naeem
    October 9, 2012 @ 3:30 am

    Is Rogaine foam availabe in Riyadh (Saudi Arabia)? If yes, who is distributor or which pharmacy ??

  3. David aka - TakingthePlunge
    October 10, 2012 @ 3:41 am

    Muhammad,

    Unfortunately, I do not have information regarding the availability of Rogaine products around the world. The best way to learn in Rogaine is available near you is to visit your local pharmacy or call your doctor’s office.

    Depending upon your country’s postal regulations, you may also be able to order Rogaine and other hair growth products from our online hair loss treatments shop.

    Good luck!
    David

  4. Remosnar
    October 13, 2012 @ 2:52 pm

    It seems to me that there are these issues with 1) using Minoxidil, and 2) getting a hair transplant.

    1 Minoxidil:
    * Minoxidil makes the skin age faster in some. Loss of collagen may be the cause.
    * Minoxidil may cause dark rings under the eyes. This may be systemic, or because of rubbing hair (dry, but still has residue of minoxidil on it) and face against the same pillow during the night.
    * If you are in a couple, the partner can no longer move to your side during the night and share your pillow.. without risking to grow facial hair.
    * According to the literatur, Minoxidil is hit and miss with many not positively affected by it.

    2 Hair transplant:
    * People who consider a hair transplant should not only consider the scar from strip or FUE… nor the cost… These are often the main concerns people have about getting a hair transplant.
    However, the real and far more serious issue is whether they are willing to run the risk of using Propecia for life! Propecia has been shown to induce anxiety and depression in the majority of mice it was applied to. In humans we are now started to see these affects and these side effects have recently been added to the insert. Impotence is another. And a 2012 article demonstrates that it may be permanent impotence even after Propecia is stopped.
    This is the real issue with getting a hair transplant. Because if a client is not willing to run the risk of Propecia.. then the hair transplant will look very strange once more hair falls off and the hairs from the transplant are standing alone like islands.
    I myself would get a hair transplant in a second if a safe alternative to Propecia that could almost guarantee that the remaining hair would be kept. Or if stem cell techniques means that I could have ‘safe’ hairs transplanted to the entire forehead and scalp.

    But as long as I have to rely on Propecia for a hair plant to be a real option… I don’t want to run the huge
    risk and play with hormone therapy like Propecia.

    But the day some safe solution is found.. I don’t see why the millions of bald men around the world wouldn’t get a hair transplant. There is a reason why clever guys like Bruce Willis wont run the risk, while less clever people like Wayne Rooney just jumps into it. Bruce will probably get onboard once it can be done safely…

  5. Paul
    October 21, 2012 @ 8:18 pm

    can i apply rogaine 5 hrs after i out my first application everyday? i work graveyard and i wake up in the afternoon and go right back to sleep when i get off?

  6. David aka - TakingthePlunge
    October 22, 2012 @ 12:26 am

    Paul,

    Rogaine’s manufacturer recommends applying it twice daily in fairly evenly spaced intervals during the morning and evening. I am not a physician and cannot advise if there would be any potential harm in applying it with only a 5 hour interval but my guess is that there would be no harm in doing so.

    In terms of its effect on hair growth, I do not think it would matter since many men report positive effects with only one daily application.

    In short, it’s always bets to discuss any alteration in the drug dosing with your physician, even if it’s an over-the-counter medication like minoxidil.

    David

  7. Alice
    March 31, 2013 @ 2:20 am

    Hi Sir, I read on the inactive ingredients in Rogaine Foam such as butane, propane etc. Are these ingredients save for applying on scalp ? Will they trigger hair loss even though minoxidil is mixed in it ?

  8. David aka - TakingthePlunge
    April 2, 2013 @ 4:15 am

    Alice,

    It is perfectly safe to apply Rogaine Foam to the scalp twice daily as directed.

    Rogaine Foam will not cause hair loss. However, as with any drug, there are potential side effects.

    Before undergoing any medical treatment, it is best to consult with your physician.

    David.

  9. HANY MOHD
    April 13, 2013 @ 6:56 pm

    I’m in the Twenty-sixth of the life and music of hereditary baldness primary, but I am currently resident in the UAE and I want to buy a medicine, it is where I can buy medicine … please help

    please anyone help me to how i get this REGAINE 5% hany.mohd@ymail.com because i’m in UAE

  10. David aka - TakingthePlunge
    April 16, 2013 @ 1:16 am

    HANY,

    I do not have any information regarding where to purchase Rogaine (minoxidil) in the UAE. The best place to start looking is your local pharmacy or you may want to contact your physician.

    Another option may be to order it online. It is available from our Online Hair Loss Treatments Shop. However, you will need to check your postal office regarding import restrictions.
    Best of luck!

    David

  11. Alice
    May 8, 2013 @ 10:44 am

    Dear Sir,

    I have been using Rogaine Foam for over 2 years now. I wonder if its ok for me to switch from Foam to Liquid solution 5% which I read liquid solution contains only water, propylene glycol and minoxidil? Is is safe for ladies ? Please advise.

  12. Bill - Managing Publisher
    May 8, 2013 @ 11:13 am

    Alice,

    In my opinion and experience, Rogaine foam is considered more effective than it’s liquid counterpart due to its foam delivery system. In its own distinct study, Rogaine foam reports an impressive 85% hair regrowth success rate (if used as directed) which is approximately 20% higher than liquid minoxidil at only 64%.

    That said, if you have concerns about Rogaine foam and want to switch to its liquid counterpart, it would certainly be better than stopping it altogether if it’s helping you to maintain any existing hair.

    Keep in mind that the 5% solutions (foam or liquid) is only FDA approved for men while the 2% solution is approved for women. This is because women who use higher concentrations of minoxidil may experience unwanted facial or body hair growth. That said, many women use 5% minoxidil solutions with even higher success rates without experiencing any unwanted side effects.

    I hope this helps.

    Bill – Managing Publisher of this Community

  13. Joanne
    June 10, 2013 @ 11:27 pm

    Dear Sir,

    Please advise how long after will it takes for my hair (if any) which were stimulated by minoxidil, to fall out after stop with 2 years use of Rogaine foam ? Will those hair which were not stimulated by minoxidil fall out too ?

    Thanks, Joanne

  14. Blake aka - FutureHTDoc
    June 12, 2013 @ 4:42 am

    Joanne,

    If you stop minoxidil, your progressive hair loss will resume and any hairs revived or regrown by the drug will shed. What’s more, because minoxidil is a preventive medication, other “hairs which were not stimulated by minoxidil” (as you put it) would be susceptible to hair loss as well. Essentially, if you stop using minoxidil, you will lose the hairs you’ve regenerated and expose yourself to future hair loss.

    I hope this helps!

    Blake (Future_HT_Doc)
    Editorial Assistant

  15. Dawn Mcclatchy
    January 14, 2014 @ 11:58 am

    I’m a 59 year old female & use Rogaine. But is makes my hair look dull & is impossible to style. My hair is thinning on top but atleast it had body & shine when styled. Is there a solution?

  16. Blake aka - FutureHTDoc
    January 20, 2014 @ 4:12 pm

    Hi Dawn,

    It is difficult to provide an answer without assessing your scalp in person. Using the minoxidil (Rogaine) is likely a great start. However, if your hair continues to look dull and thin, you should seek the expert opinion of a physician. Particularly, a physician who specializes in female hair loss. An endocrinologist or dermatologist may be a good place to start. You may also be interested in consulting with some of our recommended hair loss experts: http://www.hairtransplantnetwork.com/Consult-a-Physician/hair-loss-doctors.asp

    Good luck!

    Blake (Future_HT_Doc)

  17. oladapo Emmanuel
    August 15, 2014 @ 3:56 am

    Where can I buy Rogaine in Nigeria

  18. Tara
    October 11, 2014 @ 7:56 am

    I’ve just started using foligain 5% for men.. Liquid form.. But I have noticed it’s started to make my hair look wet and greasy after the application! Does this happen to anyone else and if so what else can I do to stop this? I’m applying the solution only to my scalp but it seems to be making the roots of my hair look wet and go greasy?

    HELPPPPPP!!!

    So embarrassing!!! This makes me not even want to keep using the product.. I don’t know what to do… Really discouraging me to use it!!

  19. David aka - TakingthePlunge
    October 22, 2014 @ 1:38 am

    Tara,

    Liquid minoxidil is known to leave hair looking greasy. If this is a concern, the best option is to switch to Rogaine Foam or a generic minoxidil foam. Foam based minoxidil products absorb and dry very quickly without leaving a greasy residue on the hair.

    Another option is to apply minoxidil in the evening only.

    David

  20. JimmyJ
    December 15, 2014 @ 4:49 pm

    Rogaine has caused premature aging, bags under the eyes, and a slight disfiguration of my face. I stopped treatment a long time ago, and the effects remain. I am only claiming this happened to ME, I’m not saying it will happen to you. From my perspective it ONLY works well enough to keep consumers spending money on it, no more. In that sense it is the perfect drug, financially speaking. But BEWARE if you happen to be one of the people who absorb Rogaine very easily and use it in the front of your scalp: it has a great tendency to deform your face–do a search on Pseudoacromegaly. This review is based on my personal experience and carefully documented (with photos) fact.

  21. jessica hernandez
    January 26, 2015 @ 12:33 pm

    Can you still straighten your hair while using rogaine?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *